Who’d have thought you’d find a vegan friendly cafe in Camelon…

Picture the scene….a wee side street in Camelon (near Falkirk, for those not around these parts). Home to a gorgeous wee cafe called Scarlett’s. It’s small, but it was mighty. Maybe a total of 8 tables, surprisingly busy, with a nice atmosphere. So busy we had to book a table and return in half an hour for our lunch. But…that was totally worth it…because behold…it has a VEGAN menu!!! đŸ˜²

20170422_145711

It is abundantly clear in this little place that they’re trying to cater for everyone. Nothing appears to be too much bother for them. Gluten free, vegetarian, vegan…and just plain fussy fuckers, all catered for.

I had a mushroom, cajun pepper and vegan cheese quesadilla. The portion was mega! But…I ordered a side of chips, because that’s how I roll (plus I have two girls who like ‘sharing’ my chips). Liz had a vegan sausage and Dijon mustard toastie, but she wasn’t keen on the sausage. Poor choice, rather than the food really.

20170422_150651

Sadly, they didn’t have any vegan cakes left today. But they assured us they normally have a good selection.

Overall I’d give this wee place a ten out of ten for effort. The food was gorgeous and the portion size was more than generous.

We’ll definitely be back. Next time we’ll book a table and sample the vegan all day breakfast. But I’ll bring my oatly in my flask as they only have soya milk…and we all know by now that I think soya milk tastes like hell in a cup!

Leave a Reply

