The struggle is real!

Day 15 vegan.

The battle continues. Operation oatly in full swing.

I truly believe these sneaky supermarkets to be operating some conspiracy theory surrounding the procurement of oat based frothy milk.

Picture it.

Morrisons in Stirling.

Last ditch attempt at getting my sweaty little hands on my ‘milk’. The tension is mounting, I can almost taste the creamy oatiness on my lips. Acting casual, I make my way to the long life milk section, with equal measures of excitement, aprehension and dread. I scan the shelves. No barista!

Fuuuuucccckkkkkk!!! (It takes every last shred of composure not to throw myself on the ground and have a huge tantrum).

Feeling deflated I head towards the exit (via the salad bar, as I don’t want the entire experience to be ruined *negotiating a salad bar as a vegan, a whole other blog post*). As I’m leaving, by pure chance I stumble upon the ‘free from’ aisle. What do I see, to my amazement. My oaty frothy milk!!!! (Notice the ownership I have over this milk. Not ‘the’ oat milk…NO, NO…it’s MY milk).

I stop. I feel flushed with excitement.

I notice a woman glancing in the general directiom of the milk on the shelf. I can’t have this. Not now. Not when I’m this close. She cannot touch my milk!

In panic I consider charging at her – bulldozing her to the floor. Ok, maybe that’s over the top? I know, I’ll just get her in a heed lock and drag her away from the section. I’ll let her go as soon as I consider her to be a safe distance from the oats. That’s compassionate, right?

Thankfully, she moves before I go in for the kill. Probably best….this shit is getting very real! I would hate for someone to be caught up in the battle that is buying frothy oat based milk in central Scotland

And….behold….

PhotoGrid_1493073186578.png

Of course. Now I have the milk, I have absolutely ZERO desire for a frothy coffee!! Typical! 😂

Dinner tonight was a late one. Had to take Davey (our wee blind dug) back to the vet, then Lola (picture below), our 9 year old boxer X mastiff decided to collapse whilst out a walk. So, everything was delayed a wee bit.

20170424_195221

Lola, looking pretty after her ‘collapse’

Despite all that, dinner was gorgeous. We ate it whilst watching ‘Carnage’; a mockumentory about a time in the future where everyone is vegan. My sister-in-law recommended it and it was not a disappointment. It’s very cleverly written and the message is poignant, despite the satirical narration. I’d recommend it.

IMG_20170424_210957_105

GOSH chickpea and harrisa pate, with soy cream cajun pasta (with olives, mushrooms and cherry tomatoes).

Time for bed now.

Here’s hoping tomorrow is a good day for us all.

✌

One thought on “The struggle is real!

  1. The struggle for Barista is real (mind I can happily guzzle Good Hemp too) but often on Friday the struggle is for vegan wine. Why can’t companies label their bottles!?!? Thank goodness for the likes of Barnivore.com and the few good ones who label (Co-op, M&S, Sainsbury’s…Tesco has some but at least them and Aldi have a PDF to check)

    Like

Leave a Reply

