Day 26…The Recovery!

Again, sorry there was no post from me yesterday. We had a busy second day in the theme park, followed by a long car journey home. We walked in the door at 1am and there was NO WAY I had it in me to do a blog post.

Today is going to be all about unpacking, washing and recovery. I can’t believe how much walking you do when you’re at Alton Towers.

We thoroughly enjoyed our wee mini break. We stayed in the ‘Enchanted Village’ and for anyone considering going I would highly recommend this. Especially if you have little kids.

SAM_6636.jpg

A magical wee village nestled in the woods. 

The village is set up for families. There are little play areas and fun little things to explore all around it. Right in the centre is ‘The Crooked Spoon’, a pub restaurant, for all your food and alcohol needs! 😂

This is where we had our breakfast on Tuesday morning. I’m not going to lie, I wasn’t excited about the prospect of breakfast  given the fact inside the theme park had no vegan options. I had checked The Crooked Spoon’s menu for dinner on arrival and they had nothing, so I assumed breakfast would be a wash out.

I’m happy to say I was pleasantly surprised. They were very accommodating when we explained we were vegan. The girl promptly brought us vegan sausages and highlighted what on the buffet table was vegan.

I knew we were out of luck for food inside the park, so I took advantage of the breakfast buffet and ate as much as I could.

20170502_093159

I used my own ‘butter’ and oatly.

The breakfast was good. I’d have preferred my mushrooms a little more crispy as they kind of had the texture of a slug…but…beggers can’t be chosers, so I ate them up!

Day 2 in the park was far better than day 1. Hardly any queues. I even managed to ride Rita and Thirteen.

We spent the afternoon in CBeebees land. Bette met lots of characters and I think it’s fair to say she had an absolute blast. She loved Mr Bloom’s Allotment and met some baby veg. The experience of the veg babies obviously confused her as she said to me later in the day…and I quote….”Mama, I can’t eat vegetables now because they have eye balls’. Oh oh….a vegetarian child who can’t eat vegetables. I knew the talking veg would confuse her. I’ve explained that only Mr Bloom’s veg have eyes..because they’re magic veg…and normal vegetables don’t. Let’s hope that works!!

20170502_131345

Our packed lunch was running out, but thankfully breakfast sustained us, so we got by on some tangerines, TREK oat bars, pretzels, breadsticks and raisins. We did make an attempt at getting a coffee, but their coffee machines are all pre-loaded, so all they can offer is soya (everywhere is obsessed with soya!) so water sufficed.

Overall we had a fabulous time. Would highly recommend it to other families and will definitely return.

We drove home via an amazing wee vegan foody find and thoroughly enjoyed the coconut cappuccino from Starbucks on the way home.

Normal service resumes shortly, but not before we celebrate baby B’s birthday on Saturday!

Expect bouncy castle pics and my mum’s first vegan catering event pictures. 😁

Have a good day…whatever you’re up to! ✌

Leave a Reply

