Black Bean Burgers

I really fancied a burger today, but really do try to avoid processed things as much as possible. So, I decided I’d attempt to make a nice vegan burger. I read a few different recipes and then decided to make my own version.

So, it’s super simple. All you need is…

  • Oil (for frying)
  • 1/2 large onion chopped finely.
  • 1 shredded carrot.
  • 1 tin of black beans, drained.
  • 6tbs flour, of your choice.
  • 2 slices of bread, made into crumb.
  • 1tsp onion granules.
  • 1tsp garlic granules.
  • Salt & Pepper, to season.

IMG-20170509-WA0005

It really is simple….oil your pan, throw your onion and carrot into it and fry them slowly until they’re soft.

IMG-20170509-WA0015

Meanwhile, fire your drained black beans into a tub/dish and mash the shit outta them. Go crazy on them until they’re nearly mush!

IMG-20170509-WA0008

Now…this is where it gets complex. Try and keep up….

Throw all the other stuff in with the mushed black beans. Mix, mix, mix. I took my jewellery off and got right in about it with my hands.

IMG-20170509-WA0013

Once it’s all combined. Shape into burger shapes. I got 4 out of these quantities. Chill burgers in fridge for a while.

IMG-20170509-WA0007

Once they’re chilled. Oil your pan and fry your burgers on a very low heat (you want them heated through) and turn them often.

IMG-20170509-WA0014.jpg

They’re surprisingly meaty looking in the pan….and hold their shape perfectly.

I served mine with chunky chips, tossed in oil and garlic and cooked in actifry.

IMG-20170509-WA0011.jpg

Once cooked I added some vegan cheese, egg free garlic mayo, tomatoes and salad on a warm bun…and served!

IMG-20170509-WA0010

If I do say so myself. It was really good!!

IMG-20170509-WA0012.jpg

For pudding we had passion fruit nicecream with cacao nibs and unsweetened coconut flakes.

20170509_192147.jpg

Gorgeous dinner! If you fancy a burger you should definitely try this one!

One thought on “Black Bean Burgers

Leave a Reply

