Be still my beating heart – vegan mac & cheese! 💗

How is it even possible to create a mac & cheese without ANY cheese…any cheese replacement…and it taste better than ‘real’ macaroni cheese??

I don’t know how it’s possible . It’s some weird vegan magic. Some voodoo! But, what I do know is that it’s fandabbydozy.

20170511_185524.jpg

I served it with roasted brocolli, kale and sweetcorn. I also had a couple of wee bits of left over sweet tattie from last night.

I can honestly say this tasted better than regular macaroni cheese. There is NO NEED to use cheese, milk or butter when you can make a dish like this without any cruelty or exploitation.

In case any of you want this recipe (there are loads of vegan mac & cheese recipes).

You’ll need…

  • 200g raw cashew nuts.
  • 3 Tbs of lemon juice.
  • 300 mls water.
  • 5 Tbs Nutritional Yeast
  • Pinch of Tumeric
  • Pinch of Cayenne Pepper
  • 1 Tbs Wholegrain Mustard
  • 1/2 Tbs Garlic Powder.
  • Salt & Pepper, to taste.

I literally just blitzed it all in the blender. Added some pasta water and then added the sauce to the cooked pasta.

It could not be easier!

Moving away from the food, for a second, we went to see Beauty & the Beast today. Finally my little B wanted to see It and she LOVED it.

After the cinema we went for some household stuff. I had no idea astonish was vegan and cruelty free. So, now I do…I bought a few bits of peices for the noise.

20170511_162914.jpg

It’s back to work tomorrow for me. 😭 I hate going back after annual leave…but I know I need to.

Leave a Reply

