Glasgow Vegan Festival.

Today was the day for the long awaited Glasgow Vegan Festival. The event was on from 11am Saturday until 5pm Sunday (not 24 hours, you understand, it did close at 5pm each night). We’ve had this date in our dairy for quite a while .

It was held in the Trades Hall on Glassford Street and entry cost £3 on the door.

The building is absolutely gorgeous and it was wel laid out, considering. However, to say it was roasting was an understatement. I felt like I was perusing stalls on the surface of the sun! There wasn’t a breath of air in the place to begin with, then when you add hundreds of vegans into the mix…it all gets a bit unbearable! I was a wee bit crabbit, if I’m being 100% truthful.

Nice touches….

Once you paid in at the door there was a wee table selling Vegan Life and Cook Vegan magazines for £1.50, instead of the usual £4.99. This, I liked!!

20170528_165046.jpg

If I’m totally truthful, I wasn’t super impressed with the festival. I am ALWAYS happy when veganism is promoted and celebrated/enjoyed by the masses, but I just didn’t feel there was very much to see.

I was at the Edinburgh festival recently and the quality and quantity of stalls far outweighed the Glasgow selection.

There was one and a half rooms of stalls…perhaps 20 in total. The food was kept separate, which was definitely for the best as that room was like the bowels of hell in terms of heat.

They had the usual merchandise stalls, the lovely Alternative Grocery Store guy with all his wares, and some fox hunting/fracking subscription stalls.

To be honest, I couldn’t concentrate on browsing too much as I was roasting and it was BUSY!

Upstairs, and I mean UP STAIRS!!!!…there were talks and demos…and childrens yoga with Lindsay, which our little Bettelicious thoroughly enjoyed (for an hour).

I was keen to buy a theVEGANkind box, but they were totally sold out. 😭

Downstairs was the epicentre of the festival…the food area. Sadly, for us…most of the stalls were already sold out (we arrived at midday, so not late) and as a result EVERYONE seemed to be flocking towards one stall. This is where my experience became really enjoyable….food, of course.

After a VERY long wait, we got to the front of the queue. Sadly, they had sold out of rolls….at this point I really did want to throw myself on the floor and take a tantrum. But…there wasn’t enough floor space and I think it would have been judged quite harshly. So, instead…I ordered it with the bread instead!

I had an ‘egg’ and ‘bacon’ sandwich, with mayonnaise.

20170528_142008.jpg

This picture does not do it justice. Head to my Facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/TheProgressiveVegan/) for a video of the gooey ‘yolk’ running out it. 💗

This sandwich was amazing. I would have preferred the pretzel roll, but it was gorgeous on the bread too.

Liz got a ‘steak’ and cheese roll, again…without the roll.

20170528_141956.jpg

There was no facility for cold water/juice, so we took leave after the food was placed into our sweaty hands and headed outside to eat it on the pavement of Glassford Street, like a hobo! Happy hobos!

On a side note….do not ever buy this chocolate. It’s awful. It peels itself out the packet and jumps into your mouth….even when you don’t want it.

20170528_164216.jpg

Vega. The chocolate of the vegan Gods! 💗

I was hoping to pick up amazing vegan pies….vegan meat and chocolate…but sadly they had all sold out. So, overall not a very productive trip for me.

That being said. I enjoyed it. And I ate well….even if just for one meal! ✌

One thought on “Glasgow Vegan Festival.

Leave a Reply

