Oh, ye cannae fling pieces oot a twenty story flat…

I’m fond of a piece….are you?

Just in case you were unlucky enough not to be born and raised in Scotland šŸ˜‰…a ‘piece’ is another name for a sandwich.

I love making my piece for work. I get excited deciding what to fill it with, cutting it, wrapping it. I literally build my entire working day around getting to eat the wonderful creation that is my piece! šŸž

When I first became vegan I couldn’t really think what I’d want in a sandwich. I felt panic! No egg mayonnaise; no cheese savoury; no quorn ham with lettuce and salad cream.

How naive I was!

I go through phases with all my food, but at present, my sandwich of choice will always include houmous. I use wholemeal or rye bread…smother it in a good dollop of houmous before topping with seeds. I LOVE seeds!

20170601_214713.jpg

Then, if you’re making the dream sandwich, you’re going to need avocado. I can’t get enough avocado. I would guess I eat 7 or 8 a week. šŸ˜²

20170601_214956.jpg

Once I have my avocado in place I drench the whole lot in freshly squeezed lemon juice. You can’t beat the contrast between the creamy houmous and avocado with the sharpness of lemon. Any self respecting piece has to have tomato…that’s just common sense!!!

20170601_215236.jpg

I finish the lot with a big handful of fresh rocket, which adds a lovely peppery taste at the end.

Anyone who believes vegans struggle to eat anything must be insane. Plants are so versatile…and there’s just so much choice!!!

What’s your favourite sandwich fillings?? I’m always looking for new ideas!

Tomorrow I’m planning a blog post about the wonders of Chia seeds. They’re my little wonder seeds…with a wealth of health benefits!

Over the next few days I’ll be blogging about all things chicken related. I’ve been doing a lot of reading and thinking about our feathered friends since watching an emotive vegan video that I very much disagreed with.

Peace and out! āœŒ

Leave a Reply

