The ‘I’m more vegan than you’ bollocks that surrounds veganism….

Being a vegan. Does everyone know the definition of veganism?

The word vegan was derived from the term vegetarian…they simply removed the ‘etari’ from the word and came up with vegan.

The vegan lifestyle was around in 1944, however a definition of veganism wasn’t created until 1949. Lesley J Cross defined it, at this point, as “[t]he principle of the emancipation of animals from exploitation by man”.

This was further clarified to “to seek an end to the use of animals by man for food, commodities, work, hunting, vivisection, and by all other uses involving exploitation of animal life by man”.

It wasn’t until 1979, when The Vegan Society became a registered charity that the definition was updated to…

“A philosophy and way of living which seeks to exclude—as far as is possible and practicable—all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, animals for food, clothing or any other purpose; and by extension, promotes the development and use of animal-free alternatives for the benefit of humans, animals and the environment. In dietary terms it denotes the practice of dispensing with all products derived wholly or partly from animals.”

So, I’m sure you’ll all sleep better tonight knowing that…but seriously, the definition of veganism is important. For me, the glaringly obvious section in the definition are the words ‘as far as possible and practical’. 

As a vegan I am trying to WHEREVER POSSIBLE exclude animal products…and therefore animal exploitation…in the food I eat, the clothes I wear, the products I use, etc.

For me, It’s about doing no harm….believing in love and compassion and living our life accordingly.

This compassion however, needs to be extended to ALL living creatures. So, this is where my bug bear lies with some (not all) vegans. So many vegans that I have met cannot bear the thought of eating an egg because some poor chicken has been exploited for it…in the process it has been treated without dignity, respect or empathy….but…this same vegan is more than happy to tear into someone who takes a teaspoon of honey a day for hayfever (which btw…falls in to the ‘wherever possible and practical bit. Plus, pharmaceuticals have been tested on animals and often contain animal products). They’ll literally stamp all over the person, on their moral high horse, and make them feel like utter shit….declare they’re ‘not vegan’, the end.

But…despite showing no empathy, remorse or understanding to their fellow human, still believes themself to be some kind of super species vegan!

What a load of utter pish!! (Love crowbarring a Scottish word in, when the moment allows).

I am as vegan as they come. I’m passionate about my moral fibre…I’m completely lead by my moral compass through life. But…and I’m going to just say it right now (and you can unfollow me if you want) I wear a RAB jacket that has down feather, I have a pair of leather clarks boots. But, I use these items because I owned them before my eyes were opened, so binning them would serve no purpose. To replace them with new I’m creating carbon footprints that are not required. When they wear out…or I feel I can’t cope with having them on my person before then…then I will gift them to someone or sell on…to fund new (or preloved) vegan replacements. Does that mean I’m not a vegan??? I certainly don’t think so!

As far as I’m concerned….being vegan is more than a diet. It’s a compassionate lifestyle. If you can’t show compassion and basic common decency to your fellow (wo)man….for me, you’ve a cheek to call yourself a vegan!

REDUCE SUFFERING…FOR EVERYTHING!

Rant over….✌

One thought on “The ‘I’m more vegan than you’ bollocks that surrounds veganism….

Leave a Reply

